top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureoliveraa4

Data Analysis: Here calculations can be found supporting the Frame.

Updated: May 20, 2019

Description of Analyses:


The following analyses can be found worked out step by step in Appendix A: Loads, deflections, Stress (bending, shear, torsional), Load bearing geometry.


Loads: Appendix A1

In this analysis, I went ahead and calculated the loads that were going to be acting on the beam. I did so, by finding the ram, mounted on the top of the frame, and the loads that the ram will perform on the frame.

Deflection: Appendix A2

In this analysis, I used the beam deflection formula and calculated the deflection that would act on the beam.

Side Walls: Appendix A3

In this analysis, I constructed an idea of what I wanted the side walls to look like to incorporate how I wanted to fit all the parts to make the frame possible.

Inner Shafts and Shaft Sleeves: Appendix A4

In this analysis, I constructed what I wanted the shaft sleeves and inner shafts to look so that they’re able to fit over each other so that they’re able to rotate with the contact of the composites pushing them.

Torsional Deformation (Shafts): Appendix A5

In this analysis, I used the torsional deformation formula. I used the Torque=4 N*m, the Length= 6 inches, Modulus of Elasticity= 75 GPa, and Polar Moment of Inertia= 0.464 inches cubed.

Torsional Shear Stress (Shafts): Appendix A6

In this analysis, I used the torsion shear stress formula. Tmax= Tc/J. T= 4 N*m, c= 19.05mm, J=0.50 inches cubed.

Composite Push Force: Appendix A7

In this analysis, I used given dimensions of average board length, widths, and thicknesses. Then I was able to calculate minimum push force if the boards to make the vice work. I was also able to find the area of the boards. Then, I was able to determine if either steel or rubber would have a higher friction factor.

Breaking Torque: Appendix A8

In this analysis, I used the shafts and RPMs of what the shafts would be rotating as so that I can determine the Mass Moment Inertia, the Required Deceleration, and the Breaking Torque.

Friction Force: Appendix A9

In this analysis, I used rubber and steel and was able to find more precisely, which material would have a better (higher) Friction Force.

Base Plate Ram Analysis: Appendix A10

In this analysis, I found the load that will take place in the base plate where the die is going to be located. Also, I made a V&M Diagram for a visual of the load.

Base Deflection Analysis: Appendix A11

In this analysis, I targeted the base plate on the area where there will be the die and then I found the deflection at that area where 2000 pound force would be distributed to a 2.38 inch length, adding to a 9000 pound load.

Maximum Stress & Maximum Vertical Shear Stress: Appendix A12

In this analysis, I found maximum stress due to the bending joist and the maximum vertical shear stress. Many steps had to take place to make the numbers come out, which can be seen below in the Appendix.




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page